Donis Casey – Bianca Dangereuse series

The Adventures of Bianca Dangereuse

It was a joy to talk to Donis Casey about The Wrong Girl, the first in her new mystery series, The Adventures of Bianca Dangereuse.

It is a spin-off from her famous Alafair Tucker series, a crime solving farm wife and mother. Set in set in Boynton, Oklahoma the series has an old-fashioned appeal that has carried through ten books. Each one has told the story of a one of her ten children.

In this new series we find Blanche, the 8th child, doing what so many girls did back in the Roaring '20s -- running off to Hollywood. There she transformers herself from a farm girl to a silent film star named Bianca LaBelle.

The Wrong Girl is a fun read. Bianca is a brave and beautiful as the star of a

You can take a girl out of Oklahoma, but you can't take Oklahoma out of a girl. With wit and humor Donis Casey's first installment of this series, promises to deliver a lot of suspense and fun read.

I particularly enjoyed the alternating chapters: the 1926 Hollywood story of Bianca LaBelle's rise to success in the hit 'Bianca Dangereuse' serials, and then going back to the 1920's in Oklahoma.

Just as the author creates the country feel of Oklahoma farm life, she now immerses the reader in Hollywood at its height. Donis Casey's writing has taken on a fresh new flavor in this novel with an intelligent use of the language of that period. And it is fun to read about some of the real movie stars of the period, inclding: Tom Mix, Mary Picford, Douglas Fairbanks, and many more.

This is a great start for a new historical mystery series. Bravo, Donis!

About the Author

Donis Casey is the author of ten Alafair Tucker Mysteries. Donis has twice won the Arizona Book Award for her series, and been a finalist for the Willa Award and a seven-time finalist for the Oklahoma Book Award. Her first novel, The Old Buzzard Had It Coming, was named an Oklahoma Centennial Book in 2008. Donis is a former teacher, academic librarian, and entrepreneur. She lives in Tempe, Arizona.

Carolyn Hart

In our interview, Donis and I talk about Carolyn Hart....

In the writing world there are many wonderful people -- but few stand out like Carolyn Hart. Not only is her Death on Demand series one of the best in mystery fiction, but she is a wonderful and generous person. Each of her books featuring Annie Laurance, Mystery Bookstore Owner, and Max Darling, are great reads. But what makes them even more special is that throughout the books, Carolyn introduces the readers to many authors that they might not have read and reminds us of some that we haven't read for a long time.

One of my favorite authors who I discovered from reading Carolyn's books is Mike Resnick. At the time I would never have imagined that one day Mike would become a frequent guest on Joy on Paper. Thank you, Carolyn!

Visit Carolyn's website to discover more of the authors that she has helped promote over the years. They are all very grateful to her -- and agree with me that Carolyn Hart is all heart. A truly warm and generous person who we all admire very much.




Tuesday & Thursday

Visit Donis Casey' Webpage...

Her website is simply gorgeous -- with an Art Deco theme.

Each month Donis posts recipes from her books...
My favorite is Boiled Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies...


If you love books like I love books...

Please like my Facebook page so that I expand to five days a week.

CLICK here....thanks!

Get the 1st book in the new series

The Alafair Tucker series

This has to be one of the best titles ever!
Start with this 1st book and you will want to read all ten in this wonderful series.

Another 1st in a series

You must read Carolyn Hart's first book in her marvelous Death on Demand series. It's a delight!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *